Google Translate now supports 103 languages covering 99% of the Internet Population


Share :

Google’s online translation tool Google Translate has added 13 more languages to its roster. The 13 languages, which are recently added to Google Translate are Amharic, Corsican, Frisian, Kyrgyz, Hawaiian, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Luxembourgish, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Shona, Sindhi, Pashto, and Xhosa. Now, this tool supports a total of 103 languages covering 99 percent of the online population.

In the announcement post, the Translate team has also explained how it adds new selections. For adding a language, it needs to be written and have a considerable amount of translations found online. Google scans those texts and uses machine learning to recognize patterns.

Google has

launched the Google Translate service in April 2006. It first used rule-based machine translations between English and Arabic, followed by translations into English and Russian in December 2006. The demand for new languages was increased in 2007 and hence within a decade, the service passed the 100 languages mark.

Google Translate now uses a combination of machine learning and human volunteers to ensure that translations are accurate and not ridiculous.

Miten Parikh

A passionate Internet marketing and search geek, Miten thinks businesses looking to succeed and grow must not ignore the Internet as a channel for branding, marketing promotions and sales. He started Rise IT and Digital Marketing just to do that. Miten is a computer engineer, finished graduate school in Information Sciences from Drexel University. He enjoys photography and loves spending time with his family whenever he can.

View all Posts by Miten Parikh