On Tuesday, Google announced a new feature – ‘Trash Can’ – to help analytics users recover deleted data such as a view, an account or a property from Google Analytics.
To use the feature, users need to select an account from the ‘Administration tab’ and click the Trash Can located on the left-hand panel. A record of deleted information will appear. Tick against the options that need to be reclaimed, and within seconds, all the information will be restored in the user’s account.
This is what Google said while officially announcing the feature:
“We all make mistakes, but the damage might seem irrevocable when accidentally deleting crucial reporting information from Google Analytics. Thanks to feedback from our users, we’re pleased to introduce a new feature to provide a safety net each time you delete a view, property or account from your Google Analytics account: the Trash Can.”
The Trash Can will preserve data temporarily for 35 days from the day the user has trashed it. Then on, all the data will be deleted permanently.
Though Google has not launched this feature officially, users will be able to retrieve information they have deleted from 27 January onwards. To learn more about this feature, visit https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/6154772