A New Instagram Feature Alerts Users If Someone Takes a Screenshot of Their Disappearing Messages

Comment

Share :

Instagram has added a new feature to the app that notifies users when you take a screenshot of their Direct Messages (DM). However, the alerts will not appear if you take a screenshot of their public posts.Users can access this feature by swiping right to capture the message or image.

Instagram said in a blog post, “Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or taken a screenshot”.

An interesting point to note in this regard is that Instagram has been closely imitating Snapchat’s features for some time now.

However, this feature will make users feel safe and assured when sharing temporary content on the app. When the news of this feature being launched emerged, it created a bit of furor among users. But, it happens to be Instagram’s fault as the image it posted couldn’t clarify what it was aiming at in the screenshot. Most social media users assumed that they’ll get a notification when someone takes a screenshot of their image.

Instagram has now made it clear that alerts applies only to the disappearing content users send via Instagram Direct.

 

 

 

 

Miten Parikh

A passionate Internet marketing and search geek, Miten thinks businesses looking to succeed and grow must not ignore the Internet as a channel for branding, marketing promotions and sales. He started Rise IT and Digital Marketing just to do that. Miten is a computer engineer, finished graduate school in Information Sciences from Drexel University. He enjoys photography and loves spending time with his family whenever he can.

View all Posts by Miten Parikh

TwitterLinkedIn